Log in

Board of Directors

Crystal Brewer - Chair (2023)*

Mrs. Brewer currently serves as the school counselor at Simpson Central School (K-8) in Pinola and also as the Lead Counselor for Simpson County School District. She is in her 20th year as a school counselor. She received her B.S. in Psychology and M.S. in Counseling Psychology with an Emphasis in School Counseling from William Carey. She is a Nationally Board Certified Counselor and School Counselor. She served as the president of MSCA in 2015-2016 and was named the School Counselor of the Year for MCA in 2016. She was honored to go on from there to be selected as 1 of 6 finalists for ASCA School Counselor of the Year 2018. It  is her honor and privilege to currently serve on the ASCA Board of Directors.

Charlotte Christian (2023)

Mrs. Charlotte Christian has 30 years of experience in public education including 12 years as district administrator. She is the former Director of Counselors and Student Support Services for Rankin County School District. During Mrs. Christian’s leadership at RCSD, two schools were the first in MS to receive the prestigious American School Counseling Association’s Recognized ASCA Model Program award. She coordinated the first ASCA “Ramp Camp” for all counselors and administrators statewide. Along with conducting presentations at the local and state level on the implementation of ASCA’s National Model: A Framework for School Counseling Programs. Mrs. Christian is a graduate of the University of Southern Mississippi and Mississippi State University. She is a National Board Certified School Counselor and holds certification in gifted education and psychometry.

Beverly McClure (2023)

As the senior counselor at Northwest Rankin High School, Ms. McClure is committed to serving students and making sure academic, social and emotional needs are met. Ms. McClure has been in state service for 23 years. Serving in law enforcement and mental health as a therapist has given her a strong foundation for her school-counseling career. Ms. McClure is a National Board Certified Counselor, member of Mississippi Counseling Association, American School Counseling Association, and serves on the Rankin County Counselor Leadership team, Mississippi Counseling Association Capital Area Leadership liaison. She has been named Star Teacher, Rankin County School Counselor of the month, and Northwest Rankin High School Faculty of the month.

​Christina Palmer (2022)
Mrs. Palmer is a school counselor at Southaven Intermediate School in Southaven MS since 2013. She completed her Master’s degree in school counseling at the University of Mississippi and completed her internship at Lewisburg Elementary. She is a National Board Certified Counselor and School Counselor and a member of ASCA. She has served in a few leadership positions in Desoto County School District including being a mentor to new counselors and a member of the school counseling district advisory committee. Most recently,  she served on the district SEL committee to help choose what SEL program would be used throughout the district.

Suzanne Stokes - Assistant Chair (2022)

Suzanne has worked as an elementary school counselor for 5 years.  She is excited to join Pecan Park Elementary in Ocean Springs as the school counselor this year. She completed her education specialist degree in School Counseling from The University of Alabama in December 2020. Suzanne holds an M.S. in Counselor Education and B.A. in communication from Mississippi State University. Suzanne is a National Certified Counselor (NCC) and National Certified School Counselor (NCSC). She is a member of the American Counseling Association (ACA) and American School Counselor Association (ASCA).

Belinda Tutor (2022)
Belinda is a K-2 counselor at Mooreville Elementary School where she has been employed since July 2016. In 2002, she graduated from Blue Mountain College with her Bachelor’s degree. She taught upper Math and Science for 14 years. In December 2015, Belinda completed her Master’s degree in School Counseling from the University of West Alabama. She completed her specialist degree in August 2018 from The University of Mississippi with an emphasis in play therapy. Belinda also became an AutPlay Therapy provider in July 2019. In 2019, Belinda and her 2-year-old Australian Shepherd, Biscuit worked side by side to become a Love on a Leash therapy pet team. Biscuit comes to school one to two days a week. Belinda has been married for 36 years to her husband Mark and they have two sons, two daughters-in-law, and three grandsons.

Newest Board Members 

Ebonee Magee-Dorsey (2024) 

Dr. Magee-Dorsey has been a school counselor since 2013 and currently serves as the District Counselor of Lawrence County School District.  Dr. Magee Dorsey is a National Board Certified Counselor and also is a Licensed Professional Counselor.  She earned her Undergraduate, Graduate, and Doctoral degrees from Mississippi College.  She has been active as a leader in school counseling for numerous years and has presented at numerous conferences across the state.  Dr. Magee-Dorsey was selected as the 2019 MCA School Counselor of the Year.  Through her service on the Magnolia State SCA Board, Dr. Magee-Dorsey hopes to serve as a voice for all school counselors who need support, resources, leadership, advocacy, and the tools necessary to be the best school counselors they can be!

Semone Olive (2024) 

Semone Olive has been serving in the Kosciusko School District since 2002.  In her current role as Director of Counseling and Behavior Specialist, she works to ensure that students K-12 have the supports they need to be successful.  Semone obtained her B.S. degree in Elementary Education and Masters of Science in Counselor Education from Mississippi State University before obtaining her Specialist in Educational Leadership from the University of Mississippi.  Semone has been an active leader in her school, community, and state throughout her time as a school counselor and describes herself as a servant leader and an advocate for her school community and the profession of school counseling.

Jontarius Haywood (2022)

Jontarius Haywood has been appointed to complete a 1-year term on the board of directors.  Jontarius currently serves as a school counselor in the  Cleveland School District. He is a National Certified Counselor (NCC),  National Certified School Counselor (NCSC), and a member of Chi Sigma Iota International Counseling Honor Society.  He earned his B.A. in Journalism from the University of Mississippi, M.A. in Teaching/ English Ed., and then his M.S. and Ed.S. in School Counseling from Delta State University. Jontarius has a strong desire to serve others and is looking forward to his service to the Magnolia State School Counselor Association and the students we serve.

Members of the Board of Directors serve a 3-year term unless appointed.

Board Member (year term ends)


PO Box 399

Morton MS 39117

Email :


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software